Locking regions in Pro Tools is an excellent way to protect them from accidentally being moved or edited as you work on your session. Find out more about using both the Edit and Time Lock features in Pro Tools 8.
Pro Tools 8 offers two different region locking modes; Time Lock and Edit Lock. In this tutorial you will explore the basics of both modes.
Time Locking Regions
Locking the position of a region in time has many practical uses. If you’re spotting sound effects to picture it’s valuable to be able to permanently lock them to a specific timecode location.
Or if you’re creating music, region edits that have been nudged carefully into place to achieve just the right feel on a track are not the kind of thing you want to do twice and locking them helps you avoid that.
Shuffle Mode Accidents
One of the common ways regions are moved accidentally occurs when deleting or trimming regions in Shuffle Mode (see Figures 1-4).
For example, when trimming one-half second from a region at Bar 2, every other region after Bar 2 on the same playlist will also be shifted earlier in time by one-half second.
If you’ve ever been listening back and found yourself wondering why the snare hits are all-of-a-sudden on one and three or why there’s a guitar solo during the second chorus, you know what I’m talking about.
How Accidents Happen
Here’s a quick look at how these Shuffle Mode accidents might happen. This is here to help show you why and when you might Time Lock your regions.
Of course, if you’re aware of pitfalls like that you’re probably already taking measures to avoid those mistakes. But another way to protect regions from inadvertently moving is to Time Lock them
Using Time Lock/Unlock
- Select the region(s) that you want to Time Lock by clicking on them with the Grabber Tool.
- An outlined Lock icon appears on your Time Locked region(s).
Working with Time Locked Regions
When a region is Time Locked you won’t be able to move it and you won’t encounter those Shuffle Mode accidents I mentioned above.(see Figures 8-9)
Time Locked Regions can still be edited in any way that doesn’t affect their position on the timeline. Cutting, copying, separating, trimming, etc. will all work as usual.
Edit Locking Regions
Edit Locking regions is a more complete level of protection. Instead of just locking a region position in time like Time Locking, Edit Locking protects the locked region from being inadvertently moved or edited.
Edit Locked regions will not allow you to Separate, Trim, Fade, Delete, or Cut the region
Be aware that Edit Locked regions can still be process by AudioSuite processing.
Using Edit Lock/Unlock
- Select the Region(s) that you want to Edit Lock.
- A solid Lock icon appears on your Edit Locked region(s).
Allow or Cancel Edit
When you try to perform an edit on a Edit Locked region you’ll be presented with an alert box that gives you the option of allowing the edit despite the fact that the region is Edit Locked. If you allow the edit will be performed once and the resulting region will remain Edit Locked.
Unlocking Locked Regions
To unlock a Locked region just repeat the steps you used to Lock it.